Utah Lease Agreement Templates (6)

A Utah lease agreement is a binding document between a landlord and a tenant for the rental of a commercial or residential property. It legally establishes the terms and responsibilities of both the renter and rentee and states the rent amount, due date, and other pertinent information.

Last updated March 29th, 2024

A Utah lease agreement is a binding document between a landlord and a tenant for the rental of a commercial or residential property. It legally establishes the terms and responsibilities of both the renter and rentee and states the rent amount, due date, and other pertinent information.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Utah

By Type (6)

Standard Lease Agreement – This is the most common form of property agreement in which a landlord and a tenant establish the rules and responsibilities of a residential property lease.
Commercial Lease Agreement – A document in which a business and a landlord agree to outline the rental of a property for office, retail, or industrial space.
Month-to-Month Lease Agreement – This is a short-term lease that may renew next month or be terminated by either party at the end of the month. Either party must give a 15-day notice.
Rent-to-Own Agreement – A legal document between a landlord and a tenant by which the renter can rent and purchase the property.
Roommate Agreement – An agreement between two cohabiting individuals that outlines the rules and responsibilities where both parties share a common property.
Sublease Agreement – A sublease agreement usually requires landlord permission and is when a leaseholder rents part or all of a space to another individual.

Disclosures (4)

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Federal Law mandates that any property constructed prior to 1978 that has known lead paint on the premises be disclosed to its tenants.

Methamphetamine Contamination – In Utah, a landlord or property owner must disclose any known methamphetamine contamination in the lease agreement. § 57-27-201(1)

Landlord’s Contact Details – A tenant has the right to know the owner or landlord’s basic information, such as their name, phone number, and address. The tenant also must receive a copy of the rental unit’s rules and statutes. § 57-22-4(7)

Property Conditions Deport—Before the lease agreement begins, the landlord must provide a written list of the dwelling’s conditions. There must be an attached blank sheet where the tenant can list damages. § 57-22-4(6)

Security Deposit

Maximum Amount – In the state of Utah, there is no established maximum amount a landlord can charge a tenant for the security deposit.

Returning to Tenant – Unless there are funds needed to repair damages to the unit, the landlord must return the security deposit to the tenant within 30 days. § 57-17-3(2)

Collecting Interest – There are no rules regarding interest on property security deposits.

Is an Itemized List Required? – There are no checklists required for a security deposit in Utah.

Separate Bank Accounts? – Utah does not have laws requiring security deposits to be in a separate bank account.

Landlord Access

General Access – A landlord must give 24 hours notice to enter the rental property unless otherwise noted in the lease agreement. § 57-22-4(2)

Emergency Access – While not mentioned in Utah laws, a landlord has the right to enter their property in the case of an emergency.

Paying Rent

Grace Period – Rent must be paid on time in the state of Utah. Failure to pay rent on time may result in the landlord serving the tenant a notice to quit or pay.

Maximum Late Fee – A landlord can charge a tenant the maximum late fee of $75 or 10% of the monthly rent, whichever is greater. § 57-22-4(5)(a)

Returned Checks (NSF) – In the state of Utah, writing a bad check to a landlord may result in a maximum penalty of $20. § 7-15-2(2)

Reasons for Eviction (5)

Non-Payment of Rent – If the tenant fails to pay the rent on time, they may be served a 3-day notice to quit or pay. § 78B-6-802(1)(c)

Non-Compliance – Tenants who do not comply with the lease agreement may be served a 3-day notice to quit or comply. § 78B-6-802(1)(h)

Tenant Maintenance – It is the tenant’s responsibility to keep the space clean and safe and follow all rules outlined in the lease agreement. § 57-22-5

Lockouts – There are no Utah state laws regarding the ability of the landlord to lock out a tenant.

Leaving Before the End Date – Tenants who abandon a property may be evicted unless they inform the landlord by written letter that they will be back. § 78B-6-815(2)

  • Duty to Re-rent – The landlord has the ability to re-rent an abandoned property. § 78B-6-816(1)