Pennsylvania Lease Agreement Templates (6)

A Pennsylvania lease agreement is a formal contract between a landlord and a tenant for renting a property. This legal document specifies the rental conditions, including the amount of rent, duration, and any rules or obligations both parties must follow. It is crucial for both landlord and tenant to review and comply with the terms before signing the agreement.

Last updated April 1st, 2024

A Pennsylvania lease agreement is a formal contract between a landlord and a tenant for renting a property. This legal document specifies the rental conditions, including the amount of rent, duration, and any rules or obligations both parties must follow. It is crucial for both landlord and tenant to review and comply with the terms before signing the agreement.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Pennsylvania

By Type (6)

Standard Lease Agreement – Generally, a 12-month lease between a landlord and tenant for the use of a residential space.
Commercial Lease Agreement – Unlike a standard lease agreement, this document is for when a business rents a space from a landlord.
Month-to-Month Lease Agreement – After the tenant pays the landlord, this rental agreement renews and has no specific termination date.
Rent-to-Own Agreement – This is similar to a standard lease agreement but with the added benefit of allowing the renter to purchase the property from the landlord.
Roommate Agreement – For two individuals sharing a leased space to outline the duties and responsibilities of each tenant.
Sublease Agreement – An agreement that lets an individual rent out their leased space to a sub-tenant.

Disclosures (1)

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Under Federal law, any home constructed prior to 1978 may contain lead-based paint; therefore, the landlord must inform any renter of possible contaminants. The renter must receive a pamphlet about the dangers of lead paint before signing the lease agreement.

Security Deposit

Maximum Amount – In Pennsylvania, the maximum amount a landlord may charge for a security deposit is 2 month’s rent for a 1-year lease 68 P.S. § 250.511.1(a) and no more than 1 month’s rent for a 2-year or longer lease. 68 P.S. § 250.511.1(b)

Returning to Tenant  – The landlord is responsible for returning the security deposit within 30 days of the lease end.

Collecting Interest – For any security deposit larger than $100 and held in escrow for more than two years, the sum must be placed in an interest-bearing account, with the interest paid back to the renter annually. 68 P.S. § 250.511.2(b)

Itemized List Required – If the security deposit has been deducted for damages, a list must be prepared and given to the tenant within 30 days of the lease end date. 68 P.S. § 250.512(a)

Separate Bank Account – Any security deposit larger than $100 must be kept in an escrow account. § 250.511.2(a)

Landlord Access

General Access – While there are no laws prohibiting a landlord from entering a tenant’s dwelling, it is advised that there is a 24-hour notice given. Consumer Guide to Tenant and Landlord Rights (p.9)

Emergency Access – There are no Pennsylvania laws concerning emergency access of a landlord.

Paying Rent

Grace Period—There is no law stating a grace period for late rent, so the rent is due on the due date. The landlord may issue a 10-day notice to quit or pay rent. 68 P.S. § 250.501(b)

Maximum Late Fee – There are no specific laws that state whether there is a maximum late fee for late payment. It is suggested that the late fee be covered in the original lease agreement.

Returned Checks (NSF) – The maximum amount a landlord may charge a tenant for writing a bad check is $50. 18 P.C.S. § 4105(e)(3)

Reasons for Eviction (4)

Non-Payment of Rent – Failure to pay the rent on time may result in a landlord issuing a 10-day notice to quit or pay rent. § 250.501(b)

Non-Compliance – Tenants must comply with the lease agreement or they may be served a 15-day notice to quit or a 30-day notice to quit if the lease length is longer than one year. § 250.501(b)

Lockouts – Locking out a tenant is prohibited in the state of Pennsylvania unless they receive a court order. § 250.503

Leaving Before the End Date – There are no mentions of early property abandonment by a tenant in the state of Pennsylvania.