Arkansas Lease Agreement Templates (6)

An Arkansas lease agreement is a contract for residential and commercial rental properties. The legal document typically outlines details such as the rental terms and conditions, payment schedules, lease duration, and any rules and regulations that the tenant and landlord must follow, such as those listed in the state’s landlord-tenant laws.

Last updated March 27th, 2024

An Arkansas lease agreement is a contract for residential and commercial rental properties. The legal document typically outlines details such as the rental terms and conditions, payment schedules, lease duration, and any rules and regulations that the tenant and landlord must follow, such as those listed in the state’s landlord-tenant laws.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Arkansas

By Type (6)

Standard Lease Agreement – a contract for a residential rental property, typically for a 12-month period. The legal document must follow Arkansas’ landlord-tenant laws, which oversee certain aspects of the lease, such as security deposits, eviction procedures, and maintenance responsibilities. 
Commercial Lease Agreement – a legally binding document to rent a commercial property. The contract can include details such as the terms and conditions of renting the property for commercial purposes, rent, duration, and upkeep responsibilities.
Month-to-Month Lease Agreement – a flexible rental contract between a landlord and a tenant. It allows a short-term commitment and the option to renew monthly.
Rent-to-Own Agreement – a unique rental contract that gives the tenant an option to purchase the rented property at a later date. Typically, a portion of their rent will go toward the agreed-upon purchase price. This lease option provides a pathway to homeownership while renting.
Roommate Agreement – a legal document between individuals sharing a rental property, outlining each roommate’s responsibilities, including rent, utilities, and other shared living arrangements.
Sublease Agreement – a contract that allows a subtenant to rent all or part of the leased property from the original tenant. This is often with the landlord’s consent. The original lease agreement will remain in effect between the landlord and the original tenant.

Disclosures (5)

Bedbug Disclosure – Landlords must provide tenants with information about bedbugs and their prevention. Ark. Code Ann. § 20-27-201

Landlord’s Contact Details – Tenants must have the contact information in writing of the landlord, or their authorized agent. This includes their name and address. Ark. Code Ann. § 18-17-701

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Landlords are required to inform their tenants of any lead-based paint on the premise, as well as them a lead hazard informational pamphlet.

Security Deposit Disclosure – Landlords must inform the tenants of the terms of why a security deposit may be withheld. Ark. Code Ann. § 18-16-305

Utility Responsibility Disclosure – The landlord must disclose on the lease agreement if the tenant is responsible to paying the utilities at the rental property. Ark. Code Ann. § 18-17-701

Security Deposit

Maximum Amount – The maximum amount a landlord can charge a tenant is dependent on whether or not the property comes furnished. The landlord can charge a maximum of 2 month’s rent for unfurnished properties. The landlord cannot exceed 3 months’ rent for furnished properties for the security deposit. Ark. Code Ann. § 18-16-304

Returning to Tenant – The landlord must return the security deposit to the tenant within 60 days after the lease ends, minus any deductions for damages or unpaid rent. Any deductions must be must be itemized in a list.  Ark. Code Ann. § 18-16-305

Landlord Access

General Access – Reasons for non-emergency access can include entering for repairs and maintenance or showing the property to prospective tenants or buyers. Landlords must give their tenants reasonable notice in this case, which is typically 24 hours, before entering the property. Ark. Code Ann. § 18-17-602

Emergency Access – If the reasons for entering are threatening to life or property, such as fire or serious water leak, the landlord can enter the rental property without notice. This ensures that the landlord can address urgent situations urgently without waiting for tenant permission.  Ark. Code Ann. § 18-17-602

Paying Rent

Grace Period – In Arkansas, the tenant has 5 days to pay their rent, after the due date.   Ark. Code Ann. § 18-17-701

Maximum Late Fee – Landlords can charge no maximum late fee for payments made more than 5 days late.

Returned Checks (NSF) – For returned checks, landlords can charge a fee up to $30 or 5% of the face amount of the check, whichever amount is greater, plus any fees associated with the transaction.  Ark. Code Ann. § 5-37-304(3)

Reasons for Eviction (5)

These reasons are governed by Arkansas landlord-tenant law and must be followed carefully to ensure a legal eviction process.

Non-Payment of Rent – The landlord can begin the eviction process if the tenant is more than 5 days late in paying their rent. Ark. Code Ann. § 18-17-701(B)

Non-Compliance – Excessive damage or violation of the lease agreement is cause for the landlord to begin eviction proceedings.  Ark. Code Ann. § 18-17-701(A)

Illegal Activity – Illegal behavior on the rental premises, such as drug trafficking, can lead to eviction. Ark. Code Ann. § 18-17-701(A)

Holdover Tenancy – The tenant must leave the property after the lease expires. If not, the landlord can seek to evict. Ark. Code Ann. § 18-17-704(C-1)