Wisconsin Lease Agreement Templates (6)

A Wisconsin lease agreement is a contract that discusses the terms between a landlord and a tenant for renting property in the state of Wisconsin. This agreement includes significant information like the names of the parties involved, the property’s location, the lease duration, and the total rental amount. It may also outline rules regarding pets, maintenance responsibilities, and any restrictions on the property’s use.

Last updated March 29th, 2024

A Wisconsin lease agreement is a contract that discusses the terms between a landlord and a tenant for renting property in the state of Wisconsin. This agreement includes significant information like the names of the parties involved, the property’s location, the lease duration, and the total rental amount. It may also outline rules regarding pets, maintenance responsibilities, and any restrictions on the property’s use.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Wisconsin

By Type (6)

Standard Lease Agreement – A landlord and residential tenant contract for a fixed term.
Commercial Lease Agreement – A legal document between a business and a landlord for a set amount of time.
Month-to-Month Lease Agreement – A short-term rental option for landlords and tenants that renews monthly.
Rent-to-Own Agreement – A legally binding arrangement that allows the tenant to purchase the rental property.
Roommate Agreement – A formal contract between individuals living in a shared space. This is in addition to any standard lease agreements between the tenant and the landlord.
Sublease Agreement – Differing from the original agreement, the sublease allows a subtenant to rent the property to another tenant.

Disclosures (6)

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Any property built before 1978 may contain lead-based paint; therefore, under federal law, the landlord is required to disclose any knowledge of lead-based paint to the tenant on the premises.

Landlord’s Identification – The landlord is required by law to disclose the name and address of the property owner or manager prior to signing a lease agreement. § 134.04(1)(a)

Utility Charges – Before signing the lease agreement the landlord must state whether the rent includes the water, heat, and electricity. § 134.04(3)

Security Deposit Receipt – The landlord is required to provide a receipt to the tenant if they pay their security deposit with cash. If a check is used to pay for the security deposit then no receipt is mandatory. § 134.03(2)(b)

Notice of Domestic Abuse Addendum – The lease agreement must include legal protections if the tenant is a victim of domestic abuse, stalking, or sexual assault. The details must be written in the lease agreement or in a separate addendum. § 704.14

Move-In Checklist – The tenant has a right to inspect the property and note any damages or issues with the property prior to moving in and before signing the lease agreement. § 134.06(1)(a)

Security Deposit

Maximum Amount – In the state of Wisconsin there is no maximum amount the landlord may charge for a supercity deposit. After inspecting the property it is advised that the tenant creates a list of prior damages. ATCP 134.06

Returning to Tenant – The landlord must return the security deposit within 21 days of the lease’s end. ATCP 134.06(2)

Landlord Access

General Access – A minimum of 12-hour notice is required for a landlord to enter the property legally. The landlord may enter the property for maintenance repairs, showings, or inspection but only at a reasonable time. The landlord must announce their presence before entering by knocking or ringing the doorbell. § 704.05(2)

Emergency Access – The landlord may enter the property if a health or safety emergency exists or to protect the property from damage. A 12-hour notice is not required to be given for an emergency. §134.09(2)(b)2.

Paying Rent

Grace Period – While there is no specific grace period on late rent, the landlord may serve the tenant with a five-day notice to quit or pay the rent. § 704.17(2)(a)

Maximum Late Fee – The landlord has the right to charge the tenant a late fee only if it is written and agreed upon in the lease agreement. There is no specific dollar amount for late rent. § 134.09(8)(a)

Returned Checks (NSF) – A bad check written for payment carries a maximum fine of $15 per bounced check in the state of Wisconsin. § 422.202(1)(d)

Reasons for Eviction (3)

Non-Payment of Rent – In the state of Wisconsin, if the tenant does not pay the rent on time, they can be served a 5-day or 30-day notice to quit. § 704.17(2)(a)

Non-Compliance—If the tenant violates any part of the lease agreement, the landlord has the right to evict that renter. Non-compliant behavior, such as not paying the rent on time, smoking in the unit if not allowed, housing a pet, or housing extra people, may result in an eviction. § 704.17(2)(b)

Illegal Activity – The landlord has the right to evict the renter if illegal activity is occurring on the premises and may serve a 5-day quit notice to the tenant.