Vermont Lease Agreement Templates (6)

A Vermont lease agreement is a contract outlining the terms in which a tenant agrees to rent a property from a property owner. The renter guarantees that they will make a regular payment for a certain period of time in exchange for using their space. Both parties sign this binding agreement to uphold the terms of the contract.

Last updated March 29th, 2024

A Vermont lease agreement is a contract outlining the terms in which a tenant agrees to rent a property from a property owner. The renter guarantees that they will make a regular payment for a certain period of time in exchange for using their space. Both parties sign this binding agreement to uphold the terms of the contract.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. Vermont

By Type (6)

Standard Lease Agreement –  A typical lease in which a property is rented to a tenant for a set period of time and both parties sign a legal document.
Commercial Lease Agreement – An agreement between a landlord and a business that outlines the length and terms of renting a commercial property.
Month-to-Month Lease Agreement – A contract between a landlord and renter that can end at the end of the month or may be renewed.
Rent-to-Own Agreement – A contract that states that the tenant may purchase the property and the landlord may sell it to the renter after agreeing on pricing and terms.
Roommate Agreement – A document stating that two people will live on the same property and share space and communal duties.
Sublease Agreement – A contract between an individual renter that authorizes them to rent their space to another renter for a price.

Disclosures (1)

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – If lead-based paint is known to exist on any property built before 1978, the landlord must disclose this information to the renter by federal law.

Security Deposit

Maximum Amount – There is no set maximum amount a landlord can charge a tenant for a rental security deposit.

Returning to Tenant – The landlord must return the security deposit to the tenant within 14 days of vacancy or lease end. 9 V.S.A. § 4461(c)

  • Itemized List – If the unit is damaged or rent is unpaid, the landlord must provide a written checklist covering each item and refund the tenant within 14 days of the lease’s end. 9 V.S.A. § 4461(c)

Landlord Access

General Access – A 48-hour notice is required for a landlord to enter the property in order to make repairs, carry out inspections, or show the property to a potential renter. 9 V.S.A. § 4460(b)

Emergency Access – In case of emergency, a landlord is allowed to enter the rental property without notice. The landlord may enter if there is a risk of danger to the property or renters § 4460(c)

Paying Rent

Grace Period – In the state of Vermont, there are no regulations on when the rent is due; therefore, it is due on the due date agreed upon in the lease. 9 V.S.A. § 4455(a) Failure to pay rent may result in the landlord serving a 14-day notice to quit or pay the amount due. 9 V.S.A. § 4467(a)

Maximum Late Fee – There is no maximum late fee on tardy rent in the state of Vermont; however, the landlord may charge a “reasonable” late fee. Highgate Associates v. Merryfield (1991)

Returned Checks (NSF) – In Vermont, there are no rules regarding how much a landlord may charge the tenant for writing a bad check.

Withholding Rent – A renter may deduct up to one-half month’s rent if they request a repair be done at the rented property and the landlord does not fix the issue within 30 days. 9 V.S.A. § 4459(a)

Reasons for Eviction (5)

Non-Payment of Rent – If the tenant does not pay rent on time, they may be served a 14-day notice to quit or vacate the premises. § 4467(a)

Non-Compliance – Failure to comply with the rental agreement’s terms may result in the landlord serving a 30-day notice to quit or comply with the original lease. § 4467(b)(1)

  • Exception – If the tenant is conducting illegal activity on the property, they may be served a 14-day notice to quit. § 4467(b)(2)

Tenant Maintenance – As agreed in the lease agreement, the landlord expects the tenant to keep a clean property in good condition and comply with all laws and regulations. § 4456

Lockouts – In Vermont, a court order is required for a landlord to lock a renter out of their own property. § 4463

Leaving Before the End Date – The landlord may charge the tenant rent up until the leases end even if the tenant vacates the property early. § 4462(b)

  • Duty to Re-Rent – The landlord does not have the ability to re-rent the property while the lease remains.