New Jersey Lease Agreement Templates (6)

A New Jersey lease agreement is a legally binding formal document for renting a commercial or residential property. The contract outlines the rules, policies, payments, terms, and dates. All parties must sign the agreement and agree to the conditions of the arrangement.

Last updated April 10th, 2024

A New Jersey lease agreement is a legally binding formal document for renting a commercial or residential property. The contract outlines the rules, policies, payments, terms, and dates. All parties must sign the agreement and agree to the conditions of the arrangement.

  1. Home »
  2. Lease Agreements »
  3. New Jersey

By Type (6)

Standard Lease Agreement – A lease contract between a landlord and a tenant for the rental of a property.
Commercial Lease Agreement – A standard lease where the tenant is a business rather than a resident.
Month-to-Month Lease Agreement – A 30-day lease that may terminate with advanced notification of either the tenant or landlord.
Rent-to-Own Agreement – This is an agreement in which the landlord allows the renter to rent and purchase the property.
Roommate Agreement – This is a contract between two individuals renting the same space and needing a list of duties and responsibilities.
Sublease Agreement – This form is used by tenants who wish to sublease their rental unit to another person.

Disclosures (4)

Lead-Based Paint Disclosure – Federal law mandates that any rental building built before 1978 may have toxic lead paint on the premises. Therefore, a lead paint disclosure must be provided to the tenant at the start lease agreement.

Truth in Renting Act – This form must be provided by any New Jersey landlord renting a building with more than two units. The form outlines the duties and responsibilities of the tenant and the landlord. § 46-8-45)

Flood Zone (conditional) – A disclosure must be given to anyone who is renting a property in a deemed ‘flood zone.’ § 46-8-50)

Window Guard Disclosure – For larger dwellings of three or more units, a tenant with a child ten years or younger may request window guards. § 5:10-27.1(c)

Security Deposit

Maximum Amount – The maximum a landlord may charge a tenant for a security deposit is one and a half months’ rent for an initial deposit. Any additional security deposits collected may not exceed 10% of the previous deposit.  § 46:8-21.2

Collecting Interest – The landlord is required to put the security deposit in a bank account or interest-bearing account that is an established inventment company and must be based in New Jersey. § 46:8-19(a)

Returning to Tenant – The security deposit must be returned to the tenant within 30 days of the lease end date. § 46:8-21.1

  • Itemized List – If the security deposit has been deducted any amount, an itemized list showing any damage or repairs must be provided. § 46:8-21.1

Landlord Access

General Access – If repairs or inspections need to be done to the rental unit, the landlord must give a one-day notice before entering. § 5:10-5.1(c)

Emergency Access – In case of an emergency, the landlord has the right to enter their property for any safety reasons or structural damage. § 5:10-5.1(c)

Paying Rent

Grace Period – In the state of New Jersey, There is a 5-day grace period for late rent. If 5 days have passed without payment, the landlord may issue a 30-day notice to quit or pay. § 2A:42-6.1

Maximum Late Fee – There is no specific maximum late fee that a tenant may be charged for late payment.

Returned Checks (NSF) – Writing a bad rent check in New Jersey may result in a maximum $20 fee. § 40:5-18(c)

Withholding Rent – A tenant may withhold rent payment only if the rental unit becomes un-habitable. The tenant may address the issues with the unit, make the proper repairs, and deduct the costs from their rent. New Jersey – Habitability Bulletin (Page 2)

Reasons for Eviction (3)

Non-Payment of Rent—Failure to pay rent on time may result in a 30-day notice to quit or pay. § 2A:18-61.2

Non-Compliance – If the tenant does not comply with the lease agreement they may be served a one-month notice to quit or comply. §§ 2A:18-61.2(b)

Lockouts – No tenant shall be locked out of their rental unit without a court order. § 2C:33-11.1(a)

Leaving Before the End Date – Even if a tenant abandons the property, they are still required to pay their rent until the end of the agreement. The landlord must attempt to re-rent out the abandoned space. NJ DCA Division of Codes and Standards. There is no penalty if the tenant abandons the property if there are unforeseen circumstances such as a spouse passing § 46:8-9.1, a disabling illness §§ 46:8-9.2(a), a spouse being accepted into an assisted living facility §§ 46:8-9.2(b) or low-income housing 46:8-9.2(c), or if their child faces any threat of violence. § 46:8-9.6(a)